People who like playing games can connect via the Discord text and voice chat servers. This platform offers enhanced functionality over other chat services. Moreover, they allow gamers to converse among themselves even if they are not playing the same game or even gaming at all. But, still many people want to know how to permanently delete the Discord account. Keep on reading to learn more about the topic.
The features of Discord servers have grown beyond collaborative gaming over time. In addition to being message boards, they are also used as discussion forums by various gaming communities.
It can be great to connect easily with friends who share many interests with you in a Discord channel. Discord can also distract you from other important aspects of your life if you spend too much time there. That is the reason, many people try to find out how to permanently delete the Discord account but sometimes they are not able to find the place where it can be done.
Not only the distraction but there are also a few more reasons for users to delete their Discount account. Do check them before and see if you fall into that category and want to proceed with the permanent deletion of the Discord account.
Why Do You Need To Permanently Delete Your Discord Account?
Because all gamers prefer Discord, finding someone who has deleted (or plans to delete) Discord is difficult. We’ve learned that many people delete their discord account for one or more of these reasons:
- Discord reportedly collects user data, such as IP addresses, messages (such as those sent to DM or a server). People who are not comfortable sharing this information choose to permanently delete the Discord account.
- Every single action you perform in the app is logged, including your user ID, unique event ID, timestamp, as well as a detailed description of what you did.
- There’s a saying that Discord does not actually “delete” or rather eliminate deleted messages or attachments. Discord staff can still access them, although they are deleted on the user/client-side.
- Also, you should know that when you delete your Discord account, your information is not lost, but you will only lose your profile picture and your account will become a “Deleted User”. As a result, all your messages and data will still reside on Discord servers. Therefore, you are left only with the option of manually deleting all your messages. This is pretty much useless since the staff will still be able to see your messages.
If these reasons keep you in worry and want to proceed with permanently deleting the Discord account, you need to scroll down a little below on how to do so.
How to Permanently Delete Discord Account
Getting rid of your Discord account isn’t difficult at all. Being unable to answer all of your server’s messages is the most challenging part! When you are ready to delete Discord permanently, this is what you have to do.
No matter what OS or system you use, we will be covering a detailed guide on how to permanently delete Discord account.
How to Permanently Delete Discord Account on Mac, PC, or Web App?
To start with, we will be focusing on how you can permanently delete Discord account on Mac, PC, and Web. Follow the steps below to proceed with the action:
- Open Discord app on your Mac, PC, or browser to proceed. Once the app is opened, click on Settings icon on the bottom left-hand of the screen.
- Clicking on the Settings icon will open the User Settings page. From the left pane, choose My Account if it isn’t opened already.
- Scroll down to reach the bottom of the screen. On the right-hand settings, click on Delete Account button under the Account Removal section that will help you to delete the Discord account permanently.
- After you click on Delete Account, there are chances that you might get a notification stating that “In Order to delete or disable your account you must first transfer ownership of all servers that you own”. Click on Okay to proceed further.
If you too got the same prompt, you will need to follow an additional step before you can delete Discord account permanently if you started a Discord server or group.
If you own any servers, think about transferring them to another owner rather than deleting them before deleting your account. There is nothing wrong with deleting them if they haven’t been active in a long time and no one will be upset by their departure. Active server groups, however, do not deserve to be deleted without your warning as the server owner.
How to Delete Discord Server
To delete your Discord server, you need to follow the below steps to permanently delete Discord account:
- Click on the Server Icon from the left pane horizontal menu. This will open your Disord server.
- Click on Server’s name as shown in the image below. It must be your first name followed by the word ‘Server’.
- A drop-down menu will appear, click on Server Settings from here to proceed further.
- Click on Delete Server from the left pane after you click on Server Settings.
- A confirmation prompt will open once you click on the Delete Server button. Enter your server’s name in the input box and click on Delete Server.
We have deleted Discord server successfully above. Now, we proceed to finally permanently delete Discord account.
- To delete Discord account permanently, you need to follow Steps1 – 3 from the “How to Permanently Delete Discord Account on Mac, PC, or Web App?” section.
- A confirmation prompt will pop up, enter your password in the input field and click on Delete Account.
That is it, this is how you can permanently delete Discord account easily on Mac, PC, or web.
After the confirmation, your account will be deleted and cannot be retrieved or accessed. Discord will go through and make the deletion as soon as possible, so the data won’t be lost immediately.
How to Permanently Delete Discord Account on iOS or Android?
If you are using a mobile app for Discord, do not worry, follow the below steps to check how to permanently delete Discord account on iOS or Android:
- Open Discord app on iOS or Android. Once the app is opened, click on Profile Picture Icon that you will find on the navigation bar at the bottom of the screen.
- On this screen, tap on My Account to proceed further.
- Scroll down below and once you find Delete account. Click on Delete Account to start the process.
- A dialog box will pop up where you have to enter your password and 2FA code if you have enabled two-factor authentication while creating the account. Enter the details and click on Delete button.
That’s it! Look how easy was it to permanently delete the Discord account on an iOS or Android app.
You will then see a dialog box asking for your password and 2FA code. Just enter the required details and tap on the red “Delete” button to permanently delete your Discord account.
If your Account is Under Deletion by Discord, How Long Will It Take?
You will receive an email on your registered email once you follow the above process to delete Discord permanently and achieve it successfully. Email stats that account is deactivated and will be permanently deleted after 14 days but did not mention how many days after that.
If you change your mind and want to cancel the delete request, you can click on the Login button provided in the email.
Ensure that the account has been deleted by sending a support ticket through Discord’s support page if does not happen after 14 days.
Taking Away on How to Permanently Delete Discord Account
For a while, Discord can be a wonderful community. Nevertheless, we have to say goodbye to certain kinds of online communities over time and this article will help you to permanently delete the Discord account.
Discord can be fun and there’s no one questioning it. But, its drawbacks are now at the forefront. So, Your Discord account can be removed as part of a broader effort to make your online footprint smaller and possibly even disappear from the web.
If you still have any confusion on how to permanently delete Discord account, do let us know in the comments section below.